My New Hero is 90 Years Old

Standard

Arnold Abbot everybody. The 90 year old pastor has been arrested three times because he refuses to stop feeding the homeless….god forbid. Since November 2nd, when Arnie started setting up stands with hot meals to feed those on the streets of Fort Lauderdale police have been ruthless in shaming themselves by continually going after this man. I’m sorry, do you not have people actually committing crime in your city, or are you just bored? Let’s backtrack for a second, the city issued a “no public food sharing” rule on October 22 and could lead to 60 days jail time and a $500 fine. That’s a long time for someone who’s almost 100! Still, Abbot has no fear and will continue to feed the homeless everyday, in a facebook post on his wall he wrote, “I appreciate all of your concern for my safety, but I have faced the Klu Klux Klan on many occasions, and I have no fear of spending the night in a Fort Lauderdale jail.” Right on, Arnie! As for the law enforcement of Ft. Lauderdale, well frankly I think they could’ve handled the situation better. Clearly the man was trying to spread the love and help needy people where he could, so why shut that down? Oh right, because cops don’t like homeless people so why would they allow them mercy? I love that Arnold doesn’t stop, that’s why he’s my new hero, he restored my faith in the civilian part of humanity (certainly didn’t restore my faith in police…) and I hope he comes out of this with a victory. However, it sounds like Arnie doesn’t know what defeat is, then good luck to you Arnold don’t make it easy on them!

Leave a comment